Star Trek Update

I'm working my way through season 5 of Star Trek: The Next Generation. They must have gotten a major upgrade in the special effects department prior to this season, because for the first time the computer graphics look really good.

I hadn't watched any episodes for a few weeks, because next up was a two-part story called "Unification", and I wanted enough time to watch them back to back. Last night, as I was flipping through the TV guide for something to watch, it hit me that this was the perfect time to watch those episodes. The plot of "Unification" features Ambassador Spock trying to forge an alliance between Vulcans and Romulans. They were the only episodes in which Spock ever appeared in The Next Generation. And earlier in the day I learned that Leonard Nimoy had passed away.

So I watched both episodes in honor of Spock. I had forgotten what a great voice he had. And I discovered, oddly enough, that Gene Roddenberry had passed away shortly before these two episodes first aired in 1991. There was a message at the beginning dedicating both episodes to him. That was an odd coincidence.

Here's to Gene Roddenberry and Leonard Nimoy.