Scientific Exploration

Recently I read this article about "The Hum", a mysterious, persistent, dull noise some people claim to hear in certain parts of the world. The third paragraph caught my attention:

Exasperated, MacPherson turned his focus to scientific literature and pored over reports of the mysterious noise before coming across an article by University of Oklahoma geophysicist David Deming in the Journal of Scientific Exploration, a peer-reviewed academic journal devoted to exploring topics outside of mainstream science. "I almost dropped my laptop," says MacPherson. "I was sure that I was hearing the Hum."

My first thought was "Hey, an OU professor!" My second thought was "How have I never heard of this journal before?!?" It sounds exactly like the kind of thing I'm interested in! I quickly found the journal's website, and a few minutes of looking around confirmed it. It's basically scientific research into "X-Files"-like topics. So I mentally filed it away and decided to take an even closer look sometime later.

The very next day, on an unrelated website, I read an article about researchers trying to find time travelers:

What Happened When We Tried To Publish a Real Paper Investigating Time Travel

They searched the web looking for people mentioning Pope Francis before he became Pope, or comet ISON before it was discovered. Unfortunately, and unsurprisingly, they found nothing. As the title implies, most of the article was actually about how the researcher couldn't get his paper published in any academic journals (although he was easily able to sell movie rights). However, the very first comment was from someone saying the Journal of Scientific Exploration was created for exactly this type of paper!

That made two references in two days, and pretty much sealed the deal. I signed up for an Associate Membership, paid my dues, setup an account, and now I'm in. I just wish I'd known about this journal years ago!