Random Pictures

Every so often, when I see something interesting, I'll pull out my phone and take a picture. But then I promptly forget about it, and over time those one-off photos get drowned out amidst all the vacation pictures in my photo collection. So I've rescued a few of them from obscurity and assembled them below.

This photo is looking directly underneath my bird feeder. A bird and rabbit were sharing the bounty of seeds that had fallen to the ground:


Another photo underneath the bird feeder. This time a rabbit was just chillaxing in the yard:


A full moon rising over the nearby pond:


Our neighbors have fake deer in their yard. One evening as Wendy and I headed out for a walk, we noticed two real deer cautiously approaching the fake ones. They seemed a bit confused by their motionless comrades:


Last winter I noticed a huge bird on the fence in our back yard! I thought it was an owl at first, but after we looked at it through binoculars, we decided it was a red-tailed hawk. It sat there for at least 15-20 minutes. I wish you could see it more clearly, but this was the most my phone's camera would zoom in:


During a walk last fall, I was amazed at how many geese were in the pond, and how loud they were. I recorded a video, but by the time it started recording, the geese had begun to fly away. You can still see a lot of them, though:


Finally, these aren't random one-time photos, but I saw them in my collection and I don't think I ever shared them. Last fall we went to the Morton Arboretum to see the fall colors. When we got there, we discovered they were displaying a series of extremely impressive Lego sculptures. I took more pictures of Legos than I did of trees! Here are some of the most impressive ones: