Fossils

In my last post, I mentioned buying a trilobite fossil at the Dunn Museum. That reminded me as a kid I collected a number of rocks around our house that contained fossils, and I've kept them even after all these years. Adding the trilobite to that collection gave me the idea of posting pictures of all the fossils.

Here's the trilobite that I got last week:

The remaining pictures are all ones I collected as a kid.

This is the most impressive one:

This one is much smaller, but I really like the amount of detail on it:

This is another of my favorites. It looks like a little leaf!

There are several little shells on this one:

A lot is going on in this rock:

More shells here:

A series of lines in this rock, but not much else:

Another series of lines here. I'm not sure what it's a fossil of.

Finally, a really good looking shell:

That's my fossil collection.

To take these pictures I first had to learn how to use the macro (close-up) setting on my phone's camera. Then I had to discover that the pictures turned out blurry, regardless of what setting was used. I was bummed. I couldn't write this post without better quality images.

Fortunately, I found a neat product on Amazon that clips onto your phone and puts a lens over your phone's camera to improve the picture quality. It was only $15, so I gave it a try. It came with 3 lenses, one of which was for macro photos, and it worked really well! I am pleased. All of the photos in this post were taken with it.