Cats, Possum, Rabbit, and Alpacas

A couple of Decembers ago, I wrote about the cat cubes I bought and how adorable it was when Chili and Jalapeno curled up inside them. Unfortunately, they have not done that in a quite a while. Recently, though, we put some cat beds in the bay window, which faces southeast and gets a lot of sunshine. The cats now love sitting there; it's become their favorite spot in the house, especially on sunny days:

There was some excitement a week or so ago, when I noticed a possum in broad daylight in our backyard, eating the seed that had dropped from the bird feeder. The cats were super interested!

Since possums are nocturnal, I wondered if maybe it was sick, but after some research I learned that it's not uncommon for possums to be seen during the day, especially during harsh winters when food is scarce. That was most likely the case here, as an arctic blast had just come to an end. I could see the possum shivering, and I felt bad for it, so I put out some wet and dry cat food for it, which it enthusiastically ate up before eventually wandering off.

While all this was happening, a rabbit stopped by to see what was going on:

All this talk of animals reminds me of a blog post I never got around to writing. For my birthday this past summer, Wendy booked us a visit to a local alpaca farm! We got to feed and pet the alpacas, and take lots of pictures and videos with them. It was very cool.

Here's a video of an alpaca chewing the cud. Wendy was quick to notice the figure-eight pattern its mouth made:

The last alpaca we visited was very, very friendly and enjoyed lots of pets. At one point, though, he stood up on his hind legs, and it was kind of terrifying to realize just how big of an animal he was!

Coming back around to cat beds, at the alpaca farm we bought a small mat made of alpaca fleece that was advertised as a pet bed:

The cats really liked it at first, but then they started biting it and pulling it apart, so it went into the closet. I will occasionally get it out and use it as a mat for me when I'm using my standing desk. It feels very luxurious!