Blogging

Dave Winer is the guy who basically invented blogging. He's been writing his blog at scripting.com since the mid-90s. He also helped create RSS, which is possibly the greatest invention of the internet era (at the very least, it's my favorite). A few months back he suggested that people stopped blogging the past few years because blogging tools haven't gotten any better.

That thought has stuck with me ever since. I've been thinking about blogging again, but blogger.com just felt outdated. When Google shut down their RSS reader last year, some people suggested that blogger.com might be next, given how little it's been updated over the years, and how heavily Google+ is being promoted. That hasn't happened so far, but it gave me another reason to look elsewhere.

So I've been looking at blogging platforms recently, and I've discovered there are a lot out there. A few I've looked at include:

I thought I would use Ghost, because it seems to be the up-and-coming blog software with the most traction. But, it's still in the very early stages, and it looks like themes need to be tweaked and re-tweaked with each new release. So I kept looking, and eventually settled on Posthaven. It's also a work-in-progress, but seems to be further along in some respects. It's simple and clean, and I like that comments are built-in, so I don't have to use a third-party comment system. And, it's a paid service ($5/month), which (I hope) gives it a slightly better chance of succeeding in the long run.

One other neat feature is that email subscriptions are also built-in. So if you want to get notified about new posts, look in the sidebar or at the bottom of the page for a sign-up feature.

Cheers!