Bike Rides

Two Saturdays ago I went on my first trail ride of the season. This was remarkably late in the year for my first ride. I'd gone on a few rides around the neighborhood earlier this spring, but not on any trails. Part of the reason for the lateness is that we've had a really wet spring, which has caused our grass to grow like crazy. For the whole month of May and for part of June, I was mowing the yard twice a week. I grew weary of so much mowing! Finally, though, things have settled down.

Before I headed out for my first trail ride, Wendy said "Remember the lesson of past inaugural rides: Don't go too far!" For the most part, I listened to this advice; I rode a total of 8 miles. 

Temps were in the mid-60s with partly cloudy skies. I started at the Prairie Trail and rode north.

At one point along the ride, I got to see first hand just how much rain we've gotten. As I crossed the bridge over Nippersink Creek, I discovered more of a Nippersink flood plain:

Later, I looked through my old photos and found pictures of what it normally looks like. Here it is from 2016:

Quite a difference!

It was a good first ride to start the season.

Yesterday I went on my second trail ride, along the same section of the Prairie Trail. This time, before I left, Wendy said "You do know that it's 86 degrees, feels like 98, with 78% humidity, right?" I did know, and I was looking forward to it! I put on sunscreen, filled my CamelBak full of water, and rode a total of 12 miles in very hot and humid weather. By the time I got home, the heat index had risen to 108! This is very unusual for this area of the country, and had prompted an Excessive Heat Warning for all of northern Illinois.

After these two rides, my season total for all bike riding is 37.08 miles.