Bike Gear

The weather here has been fairly typical for this time of year. Short bursts of beautiful 70+ degree days, followed by a week or more of 50's and low 60's. In other words, agonizing. Yesterday one of the long stretches of colder weather began. At the very least, I have managed to go on one bike ride around the neighborhood on a 70-degree day.

So, to pass the time, and to remind myself of what fun lies ahead, here's a breakdown of the bike gear I've accumulated over the past few years. I don't make any claims that these are the best products out there, I just claim that they're the things I use.

Giant Sedona Bikes

I remember when we bought these in March 2012. A few days later the temperatures spiked to 80-degrees. In March! So that was really good timing.

In February of this year, I took them to the bike shop for tune-ups, since they had a special discount going on. It was probably good I did; the mechanic said both bikes needed a new chain and new front gears. The bikes are also super clean now, too. Most of the trails we ride on are dirt paths, so the bikes had gotten quite dusty.

Allen Trunk Bike Rack

This is a standard trunk-mount bike rack, with straps that hook to the edges of the trunk. I bought it from Amazon here. It holds two bikes, although it's a bit tricky to get them both on without getting the pedals tangled up with the other bike's spokes. It usually takes me once or twice in the spring to remember the best way to fit them both on. I also keep a couple bungee cords in the car, which I use to secure the front wheel of each bike, so they're not bouncing around during the drive.

Sigma 1609 Bike Computer

This was a birthday gift from Wendy. I mainly use it to keep track of mileage and riding time. At the start of each spring, I reset the odometer so I can keep a running total for the year. And each time I start a bike ride I reset the trip odometer so I can track mileage for just that ride. It also tracks current, average, and maximum speed. I think the fastest I've ever gone on the bike is somewhere around 25-30 mph, when going down a steep hill. That's scary enough. I cannot imagine the professional riders who hit 60 mph when going down a mountain.

It's a really useful gadget. I'm glad to have it.

Giro Indicator Bike Helmet

Safety first! I always wear this when going out on the trails. Not much to say about it.

Nishiki Saddle Bag

This is a basic bag that hooks underneath the saddle. I bought it from Dick's Sporting Goods. It's been fine, although one of the seams is starting to come undone, so I should probably get a new one at some point. I usually keep snacks, loose change, a bike tool, kleenex, and a map in here. There's not much space, so those things usually fill it pretty full.

At some point I may opt for a larger bag that fits over the rear wheel. Then I could take an actual lunch, not just a snack bar.

Camelbak Hydration Backpack

I am enormously pleased with my Camelbak. It was my 10-year anniversary gift at work, which I wrote about here. It stores a huge amount of water. I love it.

Polar Insulated Water Bottle

If I know it's going to be a short trip, I take one of these instead my Camelbak. They were a birthday gift from Wendy. I am impressed with their powers of insulation: even on hot days, ice water stays icy for a surprisingly long time.

Cargo Mountain Bike Shorts

These are two shorts in one: spandex shorts covered by cargo shorts. But the best part is the extra padding in the seat, which helps a lot during long rides. You won't be surprised to learn these were a birthday gift from Wendy.

Double Dry Fit Socks

When I bought these, I wasn't intending them as biking socks. I just wanted short socks. But then I wore them on a bike ride, and the socks were so short and so breathable that I could feel air flowing around my feet, keeping them cool on a really hot day. So now they're biking socks. And my feet are happy.


That's my list of biking gear. As I type this, the temperature outside is 44 degrees, with a 10 mph wind from the north, making it feel like 39. And it's raining. But some day, eventually, I will get to use all of these items on a bright, sunny and warm day.