Assorted Links

  • Dave Roman is a graphic novelist whose blog I've been following ever since I read his book Agnes Quill: An Anthology of Mystery. He recently posted about a very strange hobby of his: watching every animated/puppet Christmas special ever produced. He listed a few of the weirdest ones he watched in 2014. One of them was A Cosmic Christmas, which aired in Canada in the late 70's. He recommended it and linked to it on YouTube. I watched it and loved it. It's about 30 minutes long, and is broken up into 3 parts. Links: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3
  • In the winter issue of the JSE, I learned about Hans Berger, the man who invented the EEG. He had a telepathic experience that inspired him to search for the biological source of psychic activity. He thought the brain might be emitting a subtle field of energy, which led him to create the EEG.
  • Shawshank Residuals - This article is mainly about how The Shawshank Redemption is still earning money 20 years after its release, but it also has lots of interesting tidbits about how the movie was made.
  • AstroBob is my blog of choice for astronomy news. It's run by an amateur astronomer who works for a newspaper in Duluth, MN. I love that when there's something interesting to see in the night sky, he always posts detailed star maps on how to locate it. A few weeks ago he wrote about how to see Comet Q2 Lovejoy. Last week we had four clear nights in a row, so I got a chance to view the comet each night. Using my binoculars, it looks like a fuzzy spot, but it's steadily getting brighter. I was able to see it last night even with the full moon. Over the next few weeks it should become visible to the naked eye. Today he posted about the comet again, and provided updated star maps.